Midwest Developmental League Playoffs draw to a close

five teams earn NPL Champions Cup berths

CHARLESTON, S.C. (July 2, 2013) – Five teams from four different clubs claimed Midwest Developmental League titles and berths at the 2013 NPL Champions Cup as the league held its playoff event June 29 - July 1 at Waukegan Sports Park in Waukegan, Ill.
The event included the top eight teams in each of the five age groups (U-13 through U-16 and U-18). Leading the way with a pair of champions was Michigan Wolves-Hawks, which claimed the U-14 and U-18 divisions. The U-18 final may have been the most exciting game of the weekend, with the Michigan Hawks-Wolves tying the match at 1-1 with only moments left in regulation before securing the championship in penalty kicks.
Also among the teams earning titles were Minnesota Thunder Academy (U-13), Chicago Magic PSG (U-15) and Sporting KC (U-16). Each of the five championship-winning teams advance to the 2013 NPL Champions Cup, to be held July 18-22 at Aurora Sports Park in suburban Denver.
"I told the boys these are once-in-a-lifetime opportunities," said Minnesota Thunder Academy Elite Boys Director Rob Zahl about his team’s opportunity to compete for a national championship. "The team played hard, kept things simple and played for each other, and when you do those things, you’re going to have a good chance to win."
A full list of Midwest Developmental League Playoffs champions is below:

U-13:  Minnesota Thunder Academy (Minn.)
U-14:  Michigan Wolves-Hawks (Mich.)
U-15:  Chicago Magic PSG (Ill.)
U-16:  Sporting KC (Kan.)
U-18:  Michigan Wolves-Hawks (Mich.)